George Quayle Cannon (January 11, 1827 – April 12, 1901) was an early member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church), and served in the First Presidency under four successive presidents of the church: Brigham Young, John Taylor, Wilford Woodruff, and Lorenzo Snow. He was the church's chief political strategist, and was dubbed "the Mormon premier" and "the Mormon Richelieu" by the press. He was also a five-time Territorial Delegate from Utah.

His book,"My First Mission", is the first of the Faith-Promoting Series, intended for the instruction and encouragement of young Latter-day Saints.

Other books in the Faith-Promoting Series include: A String of Pearls, Leaves from My Journal, Gems for the Young Folks, Jacob Hamblin, Fragments of Experience, President Heber C. Kimball's Journal, Early Scenes in Church History, The Life of Nephi - the Son of Lehi, Scraps of Biography, The Myth of the "Manuscript Found", Labors in the Vineyard, Eventful Narratives, Helpful Visions, Treasures in Heaven, Precious Memories and Gems of Reminiscence.